September 1, 2013 … wascally wabbits and wushing waters*

One month until daylight saving time starts … whoopee!

Yesterday’s photographic expedition amounted to a tour of the nearby region, trying to see, trying to extract the visual gems from a congested field of vision. Black backed gulls (Larus dominicanus –  named for the Dominican friars who also wear a  black and white habit) on rocks off the beach at Seatoun were my first shot.

Black backed gulls at rest

Birds similar to this seem to be spread around the globe

Carrying on around the coast road, and behind the airport,  I came to Lyall Bay where, as usual, there were surfers trying to extract the maximum enjoyment from a minimum of surf. It seems to me that there are few days of real surf each year, and the rest of the time is either flat calm or unusable from a surfing point of view. This may explain the chaotic state of many attempted rides in the brief period I was watching.

Surfers - Lyall Bay

I don’t get the impression I am seeing expert surfers here

In the afternoon, I made my nearly habitual trip to Pauatahanui and was disappointed that the birds were all far across the mudflats. Of course, if I had paid attention to the tide I should have expected that.  My disappointment was offset by the sighting of a bunch of “wascally wabbits” in the weeds near the exit to the point.

Rabbit browsing by the roadside on the shore of Pauatahanui Inlet

“Ooooh you wascally wabbit!” (Elmer Fudd)

Back in the Hutt Valley I came down the Eastern side, pausing at the Silverstream railway bridge where I decided to experiment with my variable neutral density filter. This allows a very slow shutter speed and in combination with a solid tripod allowed me to try for that silky look on the water. I was all lined up and started a long exposure when a train gate-crashed the party. In the end I quite like the effect.

Train crossing the Hutt River at Silverstream

Clattering gate-crasher

Further downstream in the Avalon region, I tried again for the silky effect. Not quite what I wanted but it’s a start.

Hutt River near Avalon

There is some of that silky effect … but look at the spring green colour in the riverside willows.

Something different tomorrow.

* Elmer Fudd

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Animals, Birds, Cook Strait, Hutt River, Landscapes, Lyall Bay, Railway, Rivers, Seatoun. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September 1, 2013 … wascally wabbits and wushing waters*

  1. I enjoyed the surfing one1

  2. Toya says:

    Great set of images but like Marg, I really enjoyed the surfing one.

Leave a Reply

