August 31, 2013 … a variety of feathers

As foreshadowed in yesterday’s blog, the weather was dismal.

There was wind (no calm water) and periodic and quite heavy rain, and low temperatures. Nevertheless, I had to get out and about. Whenever I am in desperation mode (and sometimes when I am not) I go to Pauatahanui. Sometimes this is rewarding, sometimes not. All of today’s shots are from there.

The kingfisher looking for crabs

I suspect he is “stumped”

First, the ubiquitous kingfisher. I have not succeeded in a good diving shot for weeks, and even when this one left its perch, it was to move to a more distant perch, rather than to catch a crab.

White-faced heron

Low and slow

A white-faced heron passed overhead at an obligingly low altitude.

Chaffinch in a tree

I think the kingfishers would chase the impertinent chaffinch away

A chaffinch was sitting where the kingfishers often choose as their lookout, a sure sign of fewer than usual kingfishers.

The last light of the day

White-faced heron in silhouette

On the way out of Motukaraka point, I saw another white-faced heron, this time silhouetted against the reflected glitter of the setting sun.

That’s it for Winter. It’s spring tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Pauatahanui, Sunset, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 31, 2013 … a variety of feathers

  1. Ellen says:

    Stumped kingfisher is nice.
    And
    Something delightful I just discovered.
    The collective noun is “a concentration of kingfishers”.

  2. nickyab says:

    I love the photo of the kingfisher..I will show it to my hubby tomorrow and I know that he will be envious as they are so fast and difficult to catch. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

