August 30, 2013 … to seek without finding

Another case of the barrens.

Pied stilt browsing

They are pretty birds even when their surroundings are drab

I took shots but they were not what I hoped for. Pauatahanui provided me with a pied stilt and a white faced heron.

White-faced heron

This depressed looking bird was concentrating hard as it looked for food.

Up on Whitireia Park near the radio masts I found a skylark.

Skylark on Whitireia Park

They are plentiful in the park but much easier to catch on the ground than in the air

Back at ground level, I was coming around the Western side of the Porirua harbour when I noticed a train heading South. I confess to having always been something of a “train-spotter”. This one caught my eye because it was headed by four locomotives. There are parts of the world where this is commonplace. New Zealand however, has a narrow gauge railway system (3’-6” gauge) and the landscape forces it to follow some tight curves. This is not usually conducive to long heavy trains such as those in the US or Australia.

A multiple headed freight train

That’s a lot of horsepower

Tomorrow may not be much better as the weather today was atrocious.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Pauatahanui, Porirua, Railway. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August 30, 2013 … to seek without finding

  1. Lydia says:

    What are they building up the hill from the train? Or are those heaps of lumber??

Leave a Reply

