August 27, 2013 … the neighbourhood is “pumpin'”

Ours is a quiet neighbourhood.

My desk is at the back of the house, facing away from the road and it is rare for me to hear much external noise.  However, my neighbours are having lengthy and expensive landscaping work done.

Truck-mounted concrete pump

It’s amazing how far that hydraulic boom can reach

A small truck-mounted concrete pump made an appearance. Engineering of all sorts has always intrigued me so I was interested to see how it worked. It turns out  to be a peristaltic pump. A pair of hydraulically driven rollers squeeze the concrete through a heavy rubber hose inside that circular drum on its back deck below the folded boom. The same technology is used in surgeries where small peristaltic pumps can substitute for the heart during surgery.

Big truck, tight corner

He got round eventually, but not without making a mess of the grass on either side of the driveway

A much heavier diesel noise, and a lot of yelling was the next distraction. It seems that the truck  they sent to deliver the concrete was rather too big for the tight corner on the driveway, and its driver got somewhat tangled up trying to negotiate the steep tight bend.

With a lot of rude words and a few dozen short backing and filling manoeuvres the truck eventually made it to the delivery point.  The pump positioned its delivery hose onto the massive new stairway being poured, and delivery began. It took about 20 minutes for the required volume of concrete to pass through the pump and no wheelbarrows were required.

Concrete dribbles into the intake hopper on the pump

I was pleased to catch the swirling action of the auger throwing the wet concrete towards the pump inlet

I was somewhat housebound yesterday as I waited at home for a courier delivery that was in fact scheduled for today, not yesterday. I cast about somewhat desperately for topics of photographic interest. Our “garden” consists mostly of rockeries and shrubs, and Mary likes to collect interesting rocks and bits of driftwood. (I often enjoy the vision of some future archaeologist trying to figure out how a piece of this particular rock came to be in this place).

Weeds and rocks

I am no gardener

Down by the letterbox where I went four or five times checking without success for the expected delivery, I notice that a neighbour’s overgrown section was blessed with a beautiful magnolia. Despite having done a couple of magnolias recently, I thought this was worth looking at.

This magnolia is tucked away in a hidden corner

Unless you went looking for it, it flowers in hidden splendour

I hope to go further today for a better selection tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in flowers, Industrial, Machinery, Normandale. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 27, 2013 … the neighbourhood is “pumpin'”

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Did they have as much “fun” getting the truck back out again? (Which would have had to have been done backwards!)

Leave a Reply

