August 23, 2013 … seasonal gladness

I may be too old to gambol, but spring is here, no matter what the calendar says.

Who cares if it's ahead of schedule

Daffodils gladden the heart

Lambs and daffodils abound, and gardens are just full of the good news. In fact, the lovely state of the botanic gardens is such that I heard comment about it on the morning news. Now where shall I go today? I know! I’ll go to the botanic gardens! Glad I thought of it.

Magnolias blooming in the botanic gardens

Though they suffer from wind or frost, they are magnificent while they last

Though I suspect the best is yet to come, the magnolias, camellias and azaleas are putting on a great display.

Raindrops on the magnolia blossoms

I needed the permission of park staff to get this close

Wellington has always been blessed with a particularly expert department of parks and gardens. So was Lower Hutt until budgets got in the way and almost all of its wonderful civic gardens have been turned into bland lawns. Anyway, the botanic gardens are superb, and I was particularly taken with the splendour of the magnolias.

Magnolias about  to open

Rich colour

From there I went home via SH1  and over the Haywards. By some strange accident of fate this took me past the Pauatahanui inlet where I could practice my rusty kingfisher skills.

As I have been discussing with my photographic co-conspirators, catching kingfishers actually doing things needs practice and they are really fast.

Kingfisher makes a perfect entry

Note that the water is not yet disturbed. Entry is usually clean … the emergence is more explosive

The image above is a tiny fragment of a full-sized image hence all the digital noise, but it catches the bird in a vertical dive with the tip of its beak already in the water.

Coming up with the spoils

The kingfisher emerges with a crab

Next it emerges from the depths like a Poseidon missile, but with a crab in the beak.

Returning home

Have launched, the bird makes a sharp turn towards home

It takes a second or two to reorient itself as it flies off and this one had to do a sharp u-turn to get back to the perch where the crab was consumed.

So endeth the 600th  edition of this blog. See you tomorrow.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Botanic gardens, flowers, Landscapes, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to August 23, 2013 … seasonal gladness

  1. Thanks for yet another interesting blog/photo story. 600! well done!

  2. Mona says:

    Lovely Daffodils………..

  3. Cliff says:

    Congrats on the 600. I’ve just reached 40 (and I haven’t started this week’s entry!)

  4. Ellen says:

    From the diving judges, that dive would have to be a 10.

    My congrats as well for the 600. Well done, a constant pleasure.

  5. Thanks all for the kind words

Leave a Reply

