August 17, 2013 … spring is coming, resistance is futile

While Wellington was having all its seismic excitement yesterday, I was in Napier.

We took the scenic route (SH 50 and paused on the way to look at the pretty little village of Onga Onga .  Like many restored villages, it is a little contrived, but in the bright sunshine and with the snow-capped Ruahine ranges in the background it was all very nice.

The general store at Onga Onga

Note the snow on the mountains to the right

As you might notice from the signs on this building, our farming pioneers were versatile folk.

Jack of all trades

This is versatility

We drove on through the lovely pastoral landscape, past Tikokino and emerged eventually in the famous Gimblett gravels wine growing area at the back of Napier.

While Mary was busy with other things in the afternoon, I drove a little way along the Fernhill-Taihape road  and turned around near Pukehamoamoa and saw some delightful rolling farmland.

Rolling farmland

Everywhere are signs of spring

In case any of my Northern hemisphere friends are still clinging to the remnants of their summer, give up now! Resistance is futile. Spring is here, and we have the lambs to prove it.

prolific lambing

I think two of these lambs belonged to that particular ewe

By now the light was fading and I have just one more shot … a small lake on a farm somewhere to the South of the Taihape Rd.

Near the end of the day

Out in the back country

More tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Animals, Architecture, Hawkes Bay, Lakes, Landscapes, mountains, Napier, Napier. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

