August 15, 2013 … sunshine makes the difference

Now that’s more like it.

At the beginning of the week, the MetService website was offering no sunshine until next Tuesday. Contrary to that expectation of overcast and rain, the sky was blue. Nobody told the thermometers, though, and the temperatures remained obdurately low.

Nevertheless, nice light is always welcome. In Evans Bay, the boatsheds were presiding over a placid harbour and flaunting their lurid colours.

Evans Bay in spring sunshine

Spring is almost here

On the South Coast, the view across the strait to the Kaikoura ranges was unusually clear.  That dark fin out there is not the world’s largest shark, but a rock over which the waves were breaking from time to time.

Imposing view across the strait

Chilly but pretty to look at

My car was in need of petrol, so I went to a gas station where I decided to make use of the car wash machine.  Never miss a chance, even though the outcome may be less than stellar.

Car wash

This is less gentle than doing it myself, but on this occasion, the machine was expedient

Back at home, I was amazed to see what looked like the world’s most obese native pigeon. I think  in fact this fellow was puffing himself up to win the approval of a nearby female.

Wood pigeon looking for a mate

The female was on the nearby roof

That’s it for today.

 

 

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Cook Strait, Evans Bay, mountains. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

