August 14, 2013 … spring approaches stealthily

Today is another edition of somewhat muted colours.

Spring is upon us, daffodils and lambs are beginning to appear, though the weather as experienced, tends to remain grey and chilly.

My photo shoot began at “the Plateau” near Maymorn, Upper Hutt. The last time I was there, it was a warm and pleasant evening with fantails flitting about gathering a plentiful harvest of sandflies. Yesterday it was just plain cold, but the same little creek gurgled just as merrily and passed under the road. I wanted a slow exposure to get that veiled look on the flowing water, so inevitably the bitter breeze added some movement of its own as it waved the foliage about.

Today is another edition of muted colours.  Spring is upon us, daffodils and lambs are starting to appear, though the weather as experienced tends to remain grey and chilly. My photo shoot began at “the Plateau” near Maymorn, Upper Hutt. The last time I was there, it was a pleasant evening with fantails flitting about gathering a plentiful harvest of sandflies. Yesterday it was just cold, but the same little creek gurgled just as merrily and passed under the road. I wanted a slow exposure to get that veiled look on the flowing water, so inevitably the bitter breeze added some movement of its own as it waved the foliage about.  Progressing up the valley I was about to pass this buy and then liked the incongruity of the Camellia in flower as a hedge plant beside a p which addock containing cows. Daisy there, sat chewing, but I had to get my picture in quickly before her sisters came over to see what was happening.  In Whiteman’s Valley, there was more running water and rolling landscape though the light was regrettably flat.  And just as I was leaving the Valley on Blue Mountains Road, this old army vehicle caught my attention. It is a Bedford RL, the backbone medium truck for several armies including Britain and New Zealand in the 1950s and 1960s. In its heyday it was much smarter than it is now (see this link borrowed from Andy Fowler on British Military Vehicle photo forum). And that is the day’s work from yesterday.

Near the Plateau, Upper Hutt

Progressing up the valley I was about to pass this by and then liked the incongruity of the camellia in flower as a hedge plant beside a paddock containing cows. Daisy sat there, chewing, but I had to take my picture quickly before her curious sisters came over to see what was happening.

Incongruous juxtapostiion

Camellia and “Daisy”

In Whiteman’s Valley, there was more running water and rolling landscape though the light was regrettably flat.

More running water

I am fairly sure I have photographed this in a different season

And just as I was leaving the Valley on Blue Mountains Road, this old army vehicle caught my attention. It is a Bedford RL, the backbone medium truck for several armies including Britain and New Zealand in the 1950s and 1960s. In its heyday it was much smarter than it is now (see this link borrowed from Andy Fowler on British Military Vehicle photo forum).

Derelict Bedford RL 4x4 Truck

Her best days are behind her

And that is the day’s work from yesterday.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Mangaroa Valley, Rivers, Whiteman's Valley. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 14, 2013 … spring approaches stealthily

  1. Pip says:

    That old Beddy RL has had a hard life by the looks of it. Thanks for the photo, it reveals some of the rust areas I now know I need to look at on my RL which I am restoring and will use as a motorhome once finished.

    cheers,
    Pip

Leave a Reply

