August 11, 2013 … listless wandering

I never knew what “mojo” really was, but I am going to have to go looking for mine.

All this time in high-security lockdown must have dulled my senses. I was allowed out again yesterday, but my images don’t feel as though I have used the camera for a month. More practice is needed.

As with most days, it began in my bedroom, as I pulled back the curtains to see what the day was like. Interesting. Some sea fog was drifting around, and the light was variable. The tank farm down at the oil depot area in Seaview was picked out, and the neighbour’s cabbage palm  (Cordyline) was also well-lit.

looking down to Seaview from Normandale

Soft sunshine, but sunshine nevertheless

I decided that the Porirua harbour had been overworked, so I went down around Seaview looking for still water. On my way, I passed the local flour mill and liked the textures in the various silos.

Silos at the flower mill

Stark steel against steel grey sky

Then it was over to the Hutt river estuary. Our wandering white heron, George has apparently not been seen there since before the storms back in June. Perhaps he’s sulking because the boat that was his favoured perch has lost its windows and been turned around.

Alas, poor Maree K

Unless she is moved soon,, she remains a threat to the surrounding area

Since that same storm, the little work boat, “Maree K” has sprawled forlornly on the inside of the seawall that protects the boatsheds from flood debris. Apparently while it was pounding on the rocks, some good neighbours lashed it to the bushes with whatever was to hand. Little more than clothes line has held it in position for over six weeks now, and I hope someone will fix it soon.

See you tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Hutt River, Light, Maritime, Reflections, Rivers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August 11, 2013 … listless wandering

  1. And yet another angle on Maree-K. Nice colours. The water no doubt reflects your mood! Is the owner around?

Leave a Reply

