August 7, 2013 … more than a gain of salt

Still confined to barracks!

I am running out of things I want to photograph and in those brief windows that I feel quite good, and when I am in the mood to make images, I am getting desperate.

However taking these things “with a pinch of salt” reminded me that Mary had a jar of something called Pink Himalayan salt. According to Wikipedia this is the clever marketing name applied to rock salt mined in the Khewra Salt mines in Pakistan. Its pink coloration comes from the small percentage of iron oxide in the crystals. There are those who believe it is healthier than ordinary salt. I have a bunch of ocean front properties in Arizona that I wish to sell to those people. It is still about 98% NaCl and 2 to 3% gypsum, with traces of other minerals.

Halite, or Himalayan Salt crystals

It may be apparent that I am an incorrigible sceptic

Be all that as it may, it looks different, so I poured some into a whisky glass (no whisky was harmed in this experiment)  and tried a couple of close shots.

More Himalayan salt

I confess to adding some radial blur

Of course I miss getting out to see the real birds, so I thought I’d practice with a very small household ornament. From the right distance they do look OK. Unfortunately their artistic weaknesses are emphasised by the close-up treatment. The greenery in the background is from the garden.

No substitute for the real thing

As soon as this thing loosens its grip I shall be out looking for nature itself

So passes another day.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Art, Birds, creativity. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 7, 2013 … more than a gain of salt

  1. That last shot is interesting. Really sorry to hear the lurgy is lingering.

Leave a Reply

