August 5, 2013 … a colourless period

Though it shocks my classically inclined photographer friends, I have little real interest in black and white photography.

Please don’t waste your time telling me why I am wrong. I just don’t do monochrome.  And yet, that’s how the world has seemed to me for the last few days … as if all the colour has been sucked out of it.  I don’t like it. I persist with the remedies suggested, but I shall be very glad when this thing passes.

Yesterday I did not go outside the house. My three images today are all taken through different windows briefly opened for the purpose.  To begin with, another fleet of yachts drifting about in very light airs just this side of the Pt Howard oil terminal. In the background, is the Eastbourne village area. The shopping street is immediately to the left of that apartment block on the right hand edge of the picture.

Awaiting the start of a yacht race - Point Howard

There was so little wind yesterday that a Virgin Australia B737-800 had to offload 20 passengers to ensure a safe take off to Brisbane

My next image, taken from the East facing windows of my bedroom shows a rugby game in progress on the Hutt Recreation Ground. Some temporary seating has been provided, presumably because the All Blacks will play some training matches against the Wellington Lions and a Canterbury side next Friday.  This worked out well for the match in progress here. This is the final of the Jubilee cup, the premier trophy in Wellington club rugby. The teams on the field are Oriental Rongotai, in black and white, and Tawa in red, blue and gold. Tawa achieved its first win in this competition by 26-21 against the “Ories”. If you enlarge the image you can see the ball in mid-air, about centre-field.

Jubilee Cup match in progress

The Hutt Recreation Ground is not often used for such high-profile events

Finally, my grandson Cooper is caught climbing a tree in front of the house. This tree was once our family Christmas tree, growing in a pot when Cooper’s father was about the same age as Cooper is now. As far as I know, Cooper is the first member of the family to have decided that our former potted tree is now able to be climbed.

That's no Christmas fairy

Grandson Cooper found in our former Christmas tree

Not sure what tomorrow will bring, but then, who ever is?

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Children, Lower Hutt, Maritime, Seaview, Sport. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 5, 2013 … a colourless period

  1. Sorry to hear you still have the “blahs”. obviously need more whiskey!

  2. Cliff says:

    Thanks for the rugby photo!

Leave a Reply

