August 4, 2013 … just a light breeze

This is keeping the faith, but only just.

I am still significantly off-colour, but very grateful to all who sent recipes for their favourite remedies, especially the ones that had whisky as a significant ingredient.

I had to go out yesterday to collect Mary from the airport. With a little time to spare, I took the long route via Pauatahanui. It was about mid-tide so there was not much happening in useful range, but I had to admire this pied stilt with the fetching pink tights.

Pied stil harvesting crabs

The toes are hidden in the mud

Mary’s flight was on time, and since she doesn’t eat the airline food, I came with a tray of sushi each. We sat on the edge of Evans’ Bay and talked about all that we had been up to in the two weeks she had been away, though with my throat condition, she had to do most of the talking.

Evans bay looking across to Shelly Bay

Very light airs

The breeze on the bay was barely sufficient that the yacht club fleet was not quite becalmed.

Evans bay, looking from Shelly Bay towards Hataitai

The full red spinnaker is deceptive. It was a very light breeze

At the end of the day, with the shadows of the Western Hills climbing steadily up the flanks of the Eastern hills, there was suddenly a bright rainbow fragment against the darkening sky to the East.

Rainbow fragment over the Eastern Hills

Always a symbol of hope. I hope this one is promising the passing of my infection.

Another day done.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Evans Bay, harbour, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August 4, 2013 … just a light breeze

  1. starrystez says:

    Beautiful photos. Sending you good wishes for a speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

