August 3, 2013 … an attack of the “blahs”

Back to earth with a thud.

I have arrived back in Wellington with the symptoms of upper respiratory tract infection … a sore throat, loss of voice, repeated coughing, and a general sense of malaise. In fact I felt so disgusting that I almost took no photos yesterday. I forced myself to take a few pro forma images, but all I can say is “blessed are those who expect little, they shall not be disappointed”.

Hierarchically ranked modes of transport

The 7 series BMW is as close as our government ministers get to the huge limousines so common in the USA.

Arriving back in Wellington I had to wait for the shuttle to the long-term car park. The line of taxis across the road, and the ministerial car (With “CR” registration) waiting to whisk somebody “important” past all that was intriguing. Meanwhile further back, the big orange bus carries the peasants.

I felt worse as the day passed and recalled one doctor telling me in a previous sore throat episode that he knew a recipe that might not effect a cure but would at least do no harm. He prescribed a shot of Drambuie or Benedictine. I added the grape purely to try to make a picture.

Back to the fruit from whence it came

Spirit of the grape

After that I lost interest and went to bed.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Aviation, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to August 3, 2013 … an attack of the “blahs”

  1. Sorry to hear you are not well. Whiskey, lemon juice and honey is quite yummy.

  2. nzvideos says:

    I sort of agree with Margaret, except that I fill a large mug about a third with hot water and most of the rest with lemon juice. I then add only enough honey to cut the sourness of the lemon. Years ago I use to just take a straight shot of cherry herring – after a few of those, I had no problem:)

  3. Ellen says:

    Adding the grape is worrying.

  4. Dissolve a spoonful of honey in some club soda, add a decent amount of whisky (notice, no “e”), only then a cube or two of ice. Quaff.

Leave a Reply

