July 29, 2013 … promise of better things to come

Yesterday, a gateway opened to another dimension.

Here in Queenstown, it was suddenly spring. With my son and his family, I was a guest at a friend’s barbecue at a house in Kelvin Heights, close to the golf course. This is the area that you can see on the other side of the lake from the Skyline if you are in Queenstown. The temperature was a very mild 16°C … warm enough that people were removing jackets and jerseys and were comfortable in tee shirts. In fact the kids went down to the lake edge and were paddling in the water of Lake Wakatipu which is chilly even in Summer.

Kids throwing rocks into the lake ... under supervision

Otis on the left, Drew on the right, son of a friend in the middle.

The house has a wonderful location, so the first thing I did was try for a panorama of the lake. Mindful of airline baggage restrictions, I left my tripod at home when I came down, so this is a stitch of about eight hand-held shots.

Panorama of the Frankton Arm from Kelvin Heights

Deer Park Heights on the right

A closer look at the landscape looks around the shoulder of Queenstown Hill to Ben Lomond (1,748 m).

Ben Lomond out to the West of Queenstown

I think the suburb on the hill is Wakatipu Heights

It is hard to go anywhere in Queenstown without finding some aspect of the landscape worth looking at. In the warmth of the afternoon, made more pleasant by excellent home-made venison sausages and a truly superb Schist Stone Pinot Noir (from Cromwell) I liked this last scene looking North along the lake shore.

Lakeside view

The lakeside willows are stirring with the approach of spring

Today, the weather has returned to a grey overcast, and I hear that the earthquakes have resumed in Wellington.

I shall find a way to enjoy myself nevertheless.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Family, Lakes, Landscapes, Light, mountains, Queenstown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

