July 27, 2013 … in transit to Queenstown

On the move yesterday, I left home far earlier than was really necessary.

Unfortunately, I then received a notification of a two-hour delay on my flight. Hmmm … what to do with the spare time. First, some coffee was required, and the Maranui on Lyall Bay seemed like a good choice. The coffee was good, as always, and the slice of apple and tamarillo tart was magnificent.  This place is always crowded which is, I suppose, a good sign.

It gave me a sense of the surf conditions on the bay, so after my coffee I went along to the Eastern end of the beach and watched the surfers at play.

Lyall Bay surf

Nice conditions

The waves were clean and sharp with the sun behind them. I enjoyed them almost as much as the surfers did.

This man is really enjoying himself

Nicely formed waves

When at last it was time to check in, I did so and then had lunch at Mojo’s in the airport. I fear my choice of a garlic and mozzarella pizza was socially irresponsible, but I enjoyed it.

Board came at the revised time, and soon the city was falling away below us. Looking down on the CBD, I was mindful of how lucky the city has been in the recent cluster earthquakes. Apparently there have been over 1,500 since last Friday, most of them very slight.  Some were downright scary.

Looking down on central Wellington

Shaken but not stirred

Somewhere over Timaru we turned inland towards Wanaka and crossed a range of mountains with an impressive snow cover. If anyone knows them, I would be interested in an identification.

Unidentified range of hills to the West of Timaru

Perhaps Hunters Hills?

Of course it was a great pleasure to be welcomed by my son and granddaughter and to breathe the cold sharp air of Central Otago.

More tomorrow

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, Landscapes, mountains, Queenstown, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 27, 2013 … in transit to Queenstown

  1. Nice surfing shots. Vicariously enjoyed that food!

Leave a Reply

