July 26, 2013 … a golden day

Desperation says go back to where you are comfortable.

Pauatahanui rewarded me with an amazing variety of bird life. It began with the screeching of a flock of spur-winged plovers who never go anywhere quietly.

Spur winged plovers never go anywhere quiet

Very noisy

They led me to a corner of the inlet that was just jaw-dropping. On a sandbank there were pied stilts, plovers, mallard ducks and white-faced herons all in numbers I have never seen before.

A mixture of bird life at Pauatahanui

Plovers, ducks, herons, stilts

As always, the plovers were skittish, and though I tried very hard to sneak up on them they took off and left the herons wondering what was going on. Pure bird magic n my eyes.

White herons

What a line-up

Later in the day, I was in the Eastern bays where the tanker “World Navigator” was adding a splash of colour to the evening.

Tanker in the evening

World Navigator

As the light of the day faded, a flock of little black shags flew across my view into the sunset.

Little black shags fly to the setting sun

A nice end to the day

So ended another day.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Pauatahanui, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to July 26, 2013 … a golden day

  1. Mike Stevens says:

    As always, I love your bird in flight shots Brian, well captured!

  2. Brian just where is that jaw dropping corner?

  3. Toya says:

    Yes I want to know that too 😉

    • Just head west from Motukaraka point and park on the little gravel patch just before the narrow bridge. Then tip-toe across the bridge and try to look like a road sign … I suspect that kind of gathering happens in glassy calm conditions at high tide

Leave a Reply

