July 20, 2013 … wet reflections but no chrome

Photographic competitions, at club level anyway, are intended to develop the photographer’s critical eye.

So it came to pass that, in addition to meeting friends for lunch yesterday, I spent a pleasurable hour or more wandering the streets of Wellington looking for images that might fit the next club topic, “Wet, chrome or reflective”.

My first image came as I got off the bus at Rutherford House. I was thwarted in my attempts to visit colleagues by the fact that all the elevators in the building were locked down pending inspection after the fairly solid (5.7) earthquake just an hour earlier. I couldn’t use the stairs because I no longer have the staff passkey to get in.  Ah well, a coffee at Fanny Anne’s and then I began wandering. I was meeting them later for lunch anyway.

Though it didn’t fit my competition goals, I was delighted with the bright sun on the “Buzzy Bee” sculpture by Hugh Nicholson and Bob Sharpe. Its placement as a piece of public art in close proximity to the “Beehive”  was deliberate and delightful.

Buzzy Bee near the Beehive

There is a flag on the staff, but in typical flat calm conditions, it is hard to see 😉

Coming back on topic, water is always an appealing topic, and in this case the reflecting pools of the Supreme Court building seem to imply that the building has very deep foundations … and so it does, all the way back to Runnymede.

Legal reflections

The foundations of the Supreme Court go deep. Those who remember the TV series “Gliding On” will recognise the old defence building reflected in the window

On Lambton Quay, the curve of the road allowed me to use shop windows for a little surreptitious street photography. The vertical splashes of colour are the partially seen contents of the shop windows.

On Lambton Quay

as through a glass darkly

Down a side street, a shop mannequin in the shop appears to embody a letter box outside, and is guarding it with white-gloved hands.

Who knows?

The image fits the category but …

In a harbour city I am inevitably drawn to the waterside. Sunshine and school holidays meant it was reasonably busy, and a fur seal pup drowsing on the sea wall by Frank Kitts Park added to the numbers. For my part, I was watching the water, looking for useful reflections.  This is a reflection of one of a small fleet of charter yachts moored near a cluster of popular restaurants.

Yacht hull

A corporate racer

Mediated reflections

Ripples through plastic

Then this pattern appeared.  The water was attractive in its own right, but this view is moderated by  the plastic windshield that surrounds a platform for outdoor seating at the Shed 5 restaurant.  I found it interesting, anyway.

And then, on the outer quay of Queens Wharf was a vast aluminium slab sided vessel. For a brief moment I hoped it signified the return to new Zealand of the fast ferries. Alas, it was the latest wave piercing catamaran from Incat Industries in Tasmania, and it is bound for Montevideo where it will join the rest of the Buquebus fleet joining that city with Buenos Aires. These are amazing feats of engineering. Despite its relatively small size, the ship can carry 1,024 passengers and 150 cars at 51 kts. On its empty-ship speed trials it exceeded 58 kts (about 107 km/h).  I liked the textures and it was certainly in a wet and reflective setting. The image however is under the bow where the texture on that thick aluminium plate appealed to me.

Incat wave piercer 069 Francisco

Magnificent engineering

That’s yesterday.

 

 

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, creativity, Light, Reflections, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to July 20, 2013 … wet reflections but no chrome

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    “For a brief moment I hoped it signified the return to new Zealand of the fast ferries.” <– those things were doing too much damage to the shoreline in Queen Charlotte Sound! Maybe the fast ferries will be economically viable if/when there's a ferry terminal established at Clifford Bay. I wonder also how they'd be able to deal with the 6 metre swell in the Cook Strait… how calm would it have to be for it to be able to achieve its 51kt. cruising speed?

    • Agreed about the shoreline damage. If I recall correctly, the limiting sea state was 3.5 metres. I seriously doubt it would do 51 kts in anything much above 1.5 metres …

      • Adam Rosner says:

        Formula One Racing ferry! If I Recall correctly the power goes up with the square of the speed, meaning this Bugatti Veyron of ships will use as much on a crossing as 10 regular ships would take… this leaves me feeling uneasy. I wonder how much the “just because you can, doesn’t mean you should” principle applies here? – Just my thoughts.

  2. Sounds like an argument for the mandatory use of rowing boats, and the avoidance of all forms of fast transport (jet aircraft), or inefficient transport (helicopters). This is not a Veyron … it is a superbly efficient hull design powered by the most economical fuel available … if it were so ruinous as you suggest, then the Buquebus company and other operators would not be carrying the thousands of passengers at low costs per seat mile or tonne mile as they do. And you should not underestimate its huge cargo capacity. I would wager that costs per seat mile of modern fast aircraft are far better than the slower models they replace. The same should be expected of fast efficient boats.

Leave a Reply

