July 19, 2013 … and now for something completely different*

True to my word, I stayed away from the inlet yesterday.

Instead, the rural landscape of Whiteman’s Valley called to me. Heavy cloud in the East and a setting sun behind me offered some possibilities. My first shot is a farm driveway at the Mangaroa end of the valley. It became something of a trick to line up he view I wanted while ensuring that no shadow of me or my camera appeared in the foreground.

Nice light in Whteman's Valley

Farm driveways are often quite picturesque

An old shed which I have used before was still intriguing, so I knocked somewhat tentatively at the farmhouse door. The lady of the house gave her consent for me to wander about, but was worried that her husband might come back and wonder “who the hell you are”. She went off to intercept her husband and he indicated by long distance sign language that it was OK.

Farm shed near Mangaroa

The old barn will stand a few years yet

The old shed is in a sad state of disrepair, but will probably continue to serve the needs of the owners for the rest of their days. It seems to serve as a shelter and storage place for various items that may one day be useful.

A useful storage space

I can sympathise with the need to keep stuff in case it comes in useful one day.

That’s it for the day, and still no birds tomorrow either. 

acknowledgment to Monty python’s Flying Circus

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Landscapes, Light, Mangaroa Valley. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 19, 2013 … and now for something completely different*

  1. Toya says:

    Awesome driveway shot!

Leave a Reply

