July 9, 2013 … a perfect day*

When the Pauatahanui inlet is particularly calm, my friend  Adam who lives up that way, sends me a text message so I can gallop out there to catch the conditions before they evaporate.

I got the message yesterday (from Marion, his wife, since he was driving). And so, armed with all my gear I rolled up at the inlet  to see a near perfect high-tide setting. I set up my hide in the reeds with my toes literally at the water’s edge. If I was any closer, I would have been in the sea. The birds were slow to come, but I spent some time looking at the view, being thankful for the splendour of the day, and for the kindness of friends.

Pauatahanui Inlet from Motukaraka point, looking East

I set my hide up near where the duck is (you’ll have to enlarge the image to see the duck)

An initial landscape shot led to the urge to try a panorama. Now this image is a the sum of 27 images stitched together in Photoshop CS6. And the resultant file was huge … 3.74 GB … the version presented here has been cruelly compressed to a mere 220 KB and lacks much of the fine quality of the original, but it still conveys the sheer beauty of the place and the day.

Pauatahanui panorama from the North East corner looking along the Whitby shoreline

Not as detailed as the original, but what a great day

Others were out enjoying the day. In fact as I was leaving I saw a pair paddling their waka ama (outrigger canoes) and just enjoying the warmth and calmness of the day.

Paddling outrigger canoes

The Waka ama is a thriving sport especially among the Pacific peoples

Lest anyone should think I left empty-handed from a birding point of view, a pair of kingfishers did come and sit on the poles near me.

The kingfisher is a very handsome bird

The truth of the matter is that it is among the most colourful of our common birds

Reflections on the water from houses across the bay made some lovely backgrounds.

This one obviously heard me moving

It is not certain that it could see inside my hide

And before I left the area, I went to the permanent bird hide on the other side of the bay and watched as another bird caught at least six crabs in about ten minutes.

Kingfisher eating crab

This one ate so many in such a short time I was waiting for it to expell all the crabshell

I believe the weather will go downhill for the next few days.

*Perfect day by Lou Reed

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to July 9, 2013 … a perfect day*

  1. Lovely shots. You need a holiday house out this way 🙂

  2. Toya says:

    Excellent set of shots, they just keep getting better and better!

Leave a Reply

