July 5, 2013 … an eerie kind of calm

Near gale force winds today make me yearn for yesterday.

Yesterday, no breath of wind stirred the waters or moved the mist that wreathed the valley and the harbour. There was sunshine and a strange flawed beauty to the day.

After visiting a friend in Eastbourne, I paused on Port Rd, Seaview, on the Eastern side of the Hutt River Estuary, and looked out to the South. In normal circumstances the Miramar Peninsula would be prominent in that view, but yesterday, it was nowhere to be seen.

From the Hutt Estuary looking Southward to the sea

Scarcely a ripple on the sea

From there I drove to the Waiwhetu stream where I knew the high tide and flat calm might favour a certain kind of image which recently won me a “highly commended” award at the North Shore salon of Photography. Sure enough the dark waters provided a perfect mirror to reflect the corrugated wall of the warehouse on the other bank.

moiré patterns on the surface of the Waiwhetu stream

Random beauty from nature

The reflected lines of the building were disrupted , or more properly, distorted by the faintest of ripples, and as any high school physics student can tell you, intersecting waves can produce moiré patterns to dazzle the eye. Though there is no focal point to the image above, the patterns are amazingly beautiful, and I take credit for nothing more than seeing them.

moiré patterns interrupted

Despite my chronological age, sometimes I am still 12 years old

Of course, the need to have a focal point  required some action on my part, so a judiciously tossed stone made a point of interest.

I did pay a brief visit to the Pauatahanui inlet at the end of the day. Sadly the tide was not at its best to make the most use of the windless afternoon. However, a fellow birder had been there and used some of the recent driftwood to create some new perches for the kingfishers of the inlet. ‘

Kingfishers loving their new perches

Great new opportunities to get close

My last image of the day is no great photograph from an artistic point of view, but just look … there are eight kingfishers in that field of view and there a few more out of frame.

And then the wind rose.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Hutt River, Light, Reflections, Seaview. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

