June 28, 2013 … seasonal lows

Winter is with us, though the worst may be yet to come.

Colour images are irretrievably grey. However, I like the challenge of trying to capture the chill, the bleakness, and the beauty that still shines through.

Oriental Bay is relatively sheltered in a Southerly. Not so much yet it can still be a place of considerable misery as the temperature drops and the wind rises. Yesterday the wind seemed to be all over the place. The Carter memorial fountain shuts down automatically if the wind is such that the salt water plume blows back onto the road. It had not yet reached that stage.

The Carter Fountain, Oriental Bay

On a calm day, the plume falls back on the plinth. There are such days

In Breaker Bay looking Southward to the open sea, there was a nice contrast between the deep green sea, and the red rocks on the nearby shore. A partial rainbow against a thunder-dark sky adds to the atmosphere. Those are the two Pencarrow lights on the other side, with Baring head hidden in the murk beyond.

Rainbow and heavy weather

Rainbows usually signify better things to come

Near Moa point there was a view across to the high peaks of the Inland and the Seaward Kaikouras.  Despite the snow, it fails to convey the deep chill in the air.

Distant snow-capped peaks

The Kaikouras across the Strait

Having enjoyed an excellent “steak and cheese” pie for lunch  from the amazing and highly recommended “Trisha’s Pies” in Kilbirnie, I decided a siesta was appropriate so drove to the end of the road at Owhiro Bay and snoozed in front of the cascading green rollers.

Relentless pounding waves

Owhiro Bay

On my way home after my nap, I noticed a man in  fluorescent jacket out on the rocks near Island Bay. I was not entirely sure he was in a secure place , and have no idea what he was gathering. I hope he survived.

Risky harvest

That fluorescent jacket would not help much except for recovery

More cold weather ahead

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, harbour, mountains, South Coast, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

