June 23, 2013 … close to the edge

I came perilously close to the edge, yesterday.

The edge of having no photographs, that is. With no power for almost the entire day, I spent time in other places plugged into borrowed power.  I was uploading and editing my storm shots. Then, as the day came to a close, it occurred to me that I had yet to make any images for the day.

Panic stricken, with the light dying, I went down to Hikoikoi to see whether I could make an image of what had befallen the boat sheds and the places where our herons and kingfishers often come.

Travelling along Marine Parade towards the boatsheds, it was apparent to me that some damage had occurred. Though they were only pine trees, they were old, and a well established part of the landscape. Most of the big pines along the seaward side of the road, next to the sports field, were down. People had been busy with chain saws and they were being split into firewood and carted off as I passed. As I understand it, all of that land is part of a treaty settlement, so I hope the people taking the wood were the owners

IMG_9725

Beside the boatsheds, in the little bay inside the breakwater where our friend George, the white heron often visits, there was chaos. The boatsheds themselves seemed to have survived, but the last light revealed a mess of piled up rubbish and some sunken or grounded boats.

IMG_9726

The semi-submerged boat above is the one on which George loved to perch. He will be disappointed when he returns. I hope it can be restored.

The good news is that when I got home there was light and warmth. Food was cooking. Excellent.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, harbour, Hutt River, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 23, 2013 … close to the edge

  1. Toya says:

    Very sad to see the damage at Hikoikoi.

Leave a Reply

