June 21, 2013 … before the storm (delayed post)

A few days ago I suggested that things could turn nasty.

They did. Wind gusts overnight are reported at 200 km/h on Mt Kaukau. I sincerely hope that no-one was silly enough to be up there measuring it, and that it was an automated reading.

Our lights flickered at around 7:30 as the wind began howling around the house. We gathered candles and flashlights and sure enough, about twenty minutes later we were plunged into darkness. Our emergency resources were pressed into service. Happily, we have reticulated gas for heating, cooking and hot water, so unless the house failed, we would be comfortable.

Listening to the house shuddering in the wind through the night was not conducive to restful sleep but we are still here this morning. The electricity has yet to be restored some forty hours later, but that is impacting about 8,000 households. Having been out and about, and seen the conditions in which the linemen are working, I find it hard to be too critical. On the other hand, I had not finished processing yesterday’s images and since the initial capture is stored on a USB drive that requires mains power, I can’t edit them or put them in my active archive on the laptop. Thus, this issue may be published later than I would like.

Yesterday’s wandering took place in the certain knowledge of the approaching storm, and though the weather ahead of it was unpleasant, the main front had yet to arrive. I got images of the weather from Day’s Bay. Bleak isn’t it?

Eastbourne from Lowry Bay

signs of worse to come

It was no better from the road leading up to Korokoro where a bunch of commuters could be seen down below.

A long slow commute

Can you hear their wipers slapping back and forth?

There was a  certain mysterious appeal to Matiu/Somes Island, though it looked cold and miserable.

Matiu/Somes Island

What a place to be marooned

And finally, from the Maungaraki water tower lookout, the swirling mist made the Belmont regional park look interesting.

North from Maungaraki

Wet, wet, wet!

Tomorrow’s blog: the storm.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in harbour, Lower Hutt, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

