June 19, 2013 … round the rugged rocks …*

New Zealand’s inner workings are all on show.

In fact a geologist of my acquaintance once told me that all you needed to learn about the country’s geology, you could see from the windows of a bus. Of course, he was Australian, and over there, he said, you had to dig deep holes to find out how the place was structured.

A brief gap in the weather yesterday allowed Mary and I to drive  out around the Southern end of the Miramar peninsula where the country’s rugged bones were visible.  The South Coast of the North Island is wild and beautiful, but very cruel. You just need to look at the edges of those rock strata in the first image to know that you would not want to be anywhere near there in a  big storm.

Rugged rock strata at the harbour mouth

Imagine these teeth with waves crashing over them

At one level, with the sea  relatively calm, some sunshine and blue sky, it is easy to be enchanted by the colour and form of the rocks.

Rocky coastline

A brief blue sky interlude in an otherwise grey day

When the sea starts to heave, however,  and throw itself against the shore, it is easy to sea why mariners treat this coast with the utmost respect.

The sea starts to reach out

I had to move quickly to avoid wet feet

As I watched, the waves were slowly becoming more forceful, and every so often they would burst over the interesting rock in my last image. Do you think we are being watched? Heavy waves would arrive on the back of this rock with an audible thump, but the rock was unmoved as it has probably been through many storms over hundreds of years.

Sturdy rock withstands the waves

Are we being watched?

The weather event is getting closer.

* … the ragged rascal ran (old tongue-twister often used to teach the pronunciation of the letter “r”

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, harbour, South Coast, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to June 19, 2013 … round the rugged rocks …*

  1. The weather was fascinating yesterday, almost a bit of everything.

  2. Toya says:

    Gosh you really can see a face in that last image! Love it!

Leave a Reply

