June 17, 2013 … dark and damp, but let’s get out anyway

Steady rain is not conducive to photography.

The valley was grey and draped with tendrils of mist or low cloud.  What could I do to keep the faith?

Winter in the Valley

Mist on the hills near Stokes Valley

I contemplated what the conditions would be like out at Pauatahanui and thought about kingfishers diving into still grey water, the surface stippled with raindrops. Execution turned out to be more difficult than in my imagination. The kingfishers were there, but getting to a place where I had a clear view of them hitting the water scared them off.

IMG_0347Spur-winged plovers in the rain

That’s the same branch favoured by the kingfishers

I stood on the edge of the zone, and saw a small group of spur-winged plovers (Vanellus miles). They were nervous and ready to depart at any sudden movement. The water was as I imagined and I shall try this again. I am sure there is much more rain to come.

I got back in the car and waited for Mary to return from her walk (and you thought photographers were mad).

Little black shags in co-ordinated feeding behaviour

It all happened very quickly

 

 

A sudden thunder of wings alerted me to the arrival of a significant flock of little black shags (Phalacrocorax sulcirostris). By my count there were at least sixty of them and they seemed to be following a shoal of fish, perhaps even herding them into a bay where they had a great time.

moving on to the next spot

They never lingered long in their pursuit of the shoal

They would settle on the water and dive repeatedly for a minute or so and then the whole flock would take to the air and descend fifty metres further on. Everyone was having a great time, except the fish.

The weather is mixed today. Let’s see what it brings.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Lower Hutt, Pauatahanui, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 17, 2013 … dark and damp, but let’s get out anyway

  1. Ellen says:

    The serious hunters; and the wild after party. Great!

Leave a Reply

