June 14, 2013 … wandering in search of an image

Just a few kilometres from the city, the Ohariu valley is a different world.

A few streams meander through it, and in settled conditions like yesterday’s, they are very attractive. The water is clear, despite the cattle nearby.  This first image required me to keep an ear open for approaching cars as the road where I was standing was narrow. Luckily, I could grab my shot and run.

Pastoral scene in the Ohariu Valley

A very peaceful setting

Coffee and a toasted sandwich at the Makara café were followed by an idle stroll on the beach (the scales are starting to demand more than idle strolls) . A cluster of variable oystercatchers, mostly in their black phase, but one in the intermediate phase were snoozing on the beach. I came close as slowly and stealthily as possible, and they sidled equally nonchalantly over the crest of the beach rocks and out of sight.

Variable oystercatchers

“Wake up! That guy over there is pointing a camera at us”

From there, my wanderings took me through Johnsonville, out to Paremata and along the edge of Pauatahanui. It was high tide and the water was still. My friends the kingfishers were present in numbers, but because of the high tide, they were using the branches of nearby trees as observation platforms. I had just lined up on one when it launched in pursuit of a crab. I caught the launch but missed the dive and emergence.

Kingfisher launches

Dive!

It took three or more attempts before I caught one emerging from the water like a Polaris missile. You can see, if you enlarge the image below, the water droplets flying as it flies triumphantly off with a crab in its beak.

Kingfisher with crab (and weed)

Moments earlier it was completely under water

Wonder what tomorrow will bring.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Makara, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to June 14, 2013 … wandering in search of an image

  1. That last image is a winner.

  2. Toya says:

    I love both of the kingfisher shots! Well done!

Leave a Reply

