June 13, 2013 … an assorted bag

Yesterday morning began before I was quite ready for it.

Our neighbours are having some landscaping done, and the contractors hired a small hydraulic digger to get into the tight spaces where the changes were to happen. These things are quieter than they used to be, but even so the hissing and clanking that goes with earth moving is not compatible with peaceful snoozing. On the other hand I was late getting up anyway, so it did me a service.

Digger in action

Looking down from my bedroom window

I have a long repressed ambition to play with one of these things. The man driving it had it pirouetting and was getting it to do all sorts of clever tricks. The motion blur in the image was deliberate.

My first call of the day was to Te Omanga hospice where I seem to have become the default photographer and visual recorder of history. I needed to catch the progress on the construction of a new office for the therapists.  Throughout all its many phases and varied history the grounds have always had wonderful gardens, impressive trees and plentiful birdlife. Tui are particularly numerous in the Australian flowering gum trees there.

Tui in a gum tree

This one was warbling merrily

Then it was out to Pauatahanui in the afternoon where there was relatively little happening, but I did see a flock of Royal Spoonbills huddled on the beach soaking up whatever warmth there was to be had from the sun.

Royal spoonbills at rest

I was able to get quite close

Across the road in a farm paddock, there was a flock of pied oystercatchers who seemed to have lost their way … at least I doubt that there were any oysters where they were looking.

Pied oystercatchers

Where did all the oysters go?

That’s it for the day.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Lower Hutt, Machinery, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

