Categories
Birds flowers Invercargill Landscapes Southland Weather

April 26, 2013 … wild winds blowing

Queenstown is now far behind us.

I didn’t need to worry about any further Autumnal excesses … the riotous colours stopped at the Southern end of Lake Wakatipu, and despite the odd tree here and there, very little has been seen in the subsequent journey.

On the other hand landscapes have been easy to find and my first one was captured somewhere just North of Garston.

Near Garston
Despite the superficial greenness, rivers were all low

The next green landscape was near the turn off to Te Anau at Five Rivers.

Five Rivers Area
Clouds might have been a warning of impending weather conditions

Sadly, the further South we went, the worse the weather became. It held off briefly as we had lunch with my brother and sister-in-law at the Lorneville Pub just out of Invercargill (The blue cod and chips meal there is absolutely brilliant).

In the afternoon, in Invercargill, strong wind and heavy rain made conditions outside very unpleasant. However, as we got close to sunset, the rained eased off though the wind remained. May and I put on our warm jackets and visited the Waihopai river estuary, and walked the loop around the lagoon.

Despite the vicious wind there were plenty of birds to be seen though mostly in some kind of protective huddle posture. I was lucky to see several kingfishers though it was a challenge to hold the lens steady on the monopod in the conditions.

Kingfisher at Invercargill
At least it is a different perch to my usual site

A little further on, I was intrigued by a juvenile spotted shag (Phalacrocorax punctatus) which kept a wary eye on me as I crept closer.

Spotted shag

As an indication of the wind I attempted to get a bit creative with images of toetoe seed heads bending before the onslaught.

Strong wind
Bend or break

And my last shot of the day is of golden grasses thrashing about.

Grasses in the wind
If you look closely you will see the movement

Tomorrow, we shall consider the Catlins.

By wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures.

This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.

One reply on “April 26, 2013 … wild winds blowing”

Enjoying all the pictures of your travels, but in this group of shots, love the one of the Kingfisher. It looks as if it is just sitting there waiting for someone to take it’s picture. Wonderful.

Leave a comment