September 1, 2012 … once in a blue moon

Blue moons are more common than you would expect.

That, however,depends on how you define them. Historically, it is the third full moon in a season that has four of them. If you want to know more about that, “Google is your friend”.  More recently, it has come to be used as the occurrence of a second full moon in a calendar month. There has been a lot of chat about the one on 31st of August.  Did you know that in our hemisphere, by the time the full moon occurred, it was 1:58am on Saturday 1st September and therefore not a blue moon? So in our side of the world we shall have a (modern) blue moon at 4:18pm on September 30.  Just thought you’d like to know.   However, the moon rising yesterday evening was visibly indistinguishable from full, and it was a wonderful red/gold colour.

Almost full moon over the Eastern hills of the Hutt Valley
This handheld shot was taken as soon as I saw it, in the knowledge that by the time I got my tripod and remote trigger mounted, the gap to the horizon would destroy the effect.

ripples on ripples ... Waiwhetu StreamEarlier in the day, I wandered around the Eastern side of the valley, pausing first in the area where Hutt Park Raceway once was, and which has now been developed to accommodate a bunch of indoor sports facilities as well as a bar and café. Standing beside the Waiwhetu Stream, I saw another of those intriguing patterns of corrugations reflected on water.

From there, I went near the much diminished but still struggling-on railway workshops. With just a little touch of nostalgia, I noted a rake of the old English Electric “units”  which served Wellington for over half a century. The knacker's yardI assume they are awaiting their turn to be scrapped. I am not sure why there is one of the relatively modern (1980-ish) Ganz-Mavag units in the queue though it looks as old and tired as the English Electrics at the rear. I assume the wire is to stop them attempting to escape.

See you tomorrow, maybe.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Light, Lower Hutt, night, Railway. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

