Categories
Adventure Greytown Wairarapa

August 25, 2015 … fierce wind at altitude

Aimless wandering yesterday got indifferent results.

Summit
North West from the summit

Some interesting low level clouds in the upper valley suggested there might be something worth seeing on the Rimutaka Hill road. There was, but nothing to make a great image with. Once you are on the road, there are few places to change your mind, so I carried on to the summit and attempted to take a photograph of the road back to the Hutt Valley. It may surprise some to know that from the summit, the road back to Wellington heads to the North West. I looked to the North West straight into the teeth of the gale. A tripod would have blown away, and I struggled to stay upright myself.

Bush
A pleasant if somewhat brief bush walk provided a welcome respite from the howling wind

There is a short loop walkway at the summit which in better weather would be very pleasant. Once I got into the lee of the lookout, the bush was indeed nice to be in, though it was being whipped about by the wind across its tops.

Wairarapa view
Looking Eastward to Greytown and beyond

Just before the track re-emerged into the wind, there was a view out to the East with the Wairarapa plains and Greytown visible through the notch  in the far distance.

That will do for the day

 

By wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures.

This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.

One reply on “August 25, 2015 … fierce wind at altitude”

Brian, your photography always brightens my day, and I thank you for it. That spot at the top would have been great for a long exposure to capture the movement of the wind. But keeping the camera steady atop any tripod in a gale is always the problem.

Leave a comment