July 10, 2013 … looking for beauty in the drabness

Oh dear, oh dear, it was a difficult day. Very few pictures were taken, despite two trips out for just that purpose.

Perhaps I can call on the weather as an excuse, but that would be silly. The day was grey and flat, but I have achieved some good images in worse conditions. Whatever the reason, I am not pleased with today’s images.

Pied stilt fossicking for food

Even on a flat day, the colours of the housing across the bay lend a hand

The ponds near the bird hide on Gray’s Rd were still and reflecting well, though the light was a bit drab, and a pied stilt provided a focal point.  Around the point at Motukaraka, facing to the West were a pair of Royal Spoonbills and a white-faced heron. What really caught my eye, though, was the stark pattern of the ripples on the water.

Royal spoonbills and a white-faced heron

“Look Ethel, there’s that awful commoner again”
“Shhh Ruby, if we ignore him he will go away”

My last shot for the day is looking back across the exposed mudflats where the kingfishers hunt.  There is even a kingfisher in the shot, but the focus of the image was the mud. I was intrigued to learn recently that there are as many as 450 crabs per square metre in such mudflats. No wonder so many birds come here for dinner.

The mudflats at the inlet

Low tide exposes a vast area of mud

And that’s it. Bad weather on the way.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 10, 2013 … looking for beauty in the drabness

  1. There is something hauntingly beautiful about your grey day..
    Life goes on in spite of the rain. I like the first photo best…gazing into the reflection.

  2. I like your attempts. It portrays reality and they are also attractive. You did better than I did today.

Leave a Reply

