May 8, 2012 … bringin’ back the warmth to the ground*

A new day! They keep happening, don’t they?

And long may it continue.

Yesterday’s photographic adventures were curtailed by the need to prepare for teaching, but I did get caught up in the “supermoon” hysteria in the morning. I figured that everyone would be doing the moonrise, but most would forget the moon set. So it proved to be, at least among my photographic friends on Facebook.

I set up my tripod in an upstairs West-facing window and waited. It was much later, and thus much lighter than I anticipated. It was 7:45 am, and broad daylight before the moon finally touched down on the houses on my Western skyline in Maungaraki. I took the shot (follow that link), however, I have had my fill of moons for a while, and choose instead to present an image taken just a little earlier from precisely the opposite direction.

Sometimes I get (metaphorically) beaten up by my camera club friends for so many shots taken without leaving home. I once presented a competition portfolio of six mounted images all taken from my front lawn. To be fair, they were all taken in different seasons, different light, different weather, and in my opinion, comprised a reasonably presentable set.

Today’s image is from almost the same spot, and the same format, and offers a moment in time when nature was experimenting with random flicks of an orange brush over a blue and apricot wash . Hutt Valley Sunrise

Of course, she tries something new, not only each day, but sometimes, each hour.  Nevertheless, I love them all. This was taken within moments of my first opening the curtains yesterday. My camera is always to hand. Despite the cool temperature, I flung open the window and pointed the camera in the direction of the new day.  (You will need to click for the larger image to see any detail in the valley).

Down in the valley, you can see the street lights of Avalon and Taita. Most people were still in the shadow of the Eastern hills.  River mist was creeping down from the Taita Gorge and Stokes Valley, while the lofty heights of the Tararua ranges formed a majestic backdrop.

What a great place to live.

* “Sun Arise”, by Rolf Harris and Harry Butler.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Light, Lower Hutt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May 8, 2012 … bringin’ back the warmth to the ground*

  1. “What a great place to live” –
    Rub it in, why don’t you:)
    Wonderful dawn shot!

Leave a Reply

